Facebook is without doubt the world’s largest social media platform. Facebook has nearly 2.8 billion users each month. There are currently three platforms for the social media platform, including Instagram Messenger, WhatsApp, and WhatsApp.
We have been reminded repeatedly over the years that the brand secretly collects, stores, and sells your data. Privacy concerns for social media platforms are at an all-time high. The Cambridge Analytica scandal, which basically collected personal data from millions of Facebook users without their consent, is a prime example of this privacy concern.
Facebook has always been at the center of privacy issues. It was revealed in 2019 that the company used contractors to create transcripts from audio chats. If you’re one of the many people who have been deeply disturbed by these scandals, you may want to permanently delete your Facebook account.
But how do you do it? We will explain how to delete your Facebook account. Before we get started, let’s clarify the differences between deactivating and deleting your Facebook accounts.
What’s The Difference Between Deactivating and Deleting a Facebook Account?
Facebook users can either deactivate or delete their accounts. This is useful if you don’t wish to continue using Facebook for a long time. A deactivated account will prevent anyone from seeing your profile. Facebook Messenger can be used, however.
Your profile picture will still be visible in conversations. You can also log in to Facebook for other apps such as Spotify, Pinterest, etc. The photos, videos, and posts will not be deleted. The account can be easily reactivated at any time.
How Do I Deactivate My Facebook Account?
It is very easy to deactivate your Facebook account. Follow these steps to deactivate your Facebook account.
- Go to Settings & Privacy on Facebook.
- Click on Settings, then click on “Your Facebook Information”.
- You will see the ‘Deactivation & Deletion’ option. Select ‘Deactivate Account’ then click Continue Account Deactivation’ to confirm.
How Do You Permanently Delete Your FB Account?
It is important to remember that you won’t be allowed to reactivate the account after you delete it. Your profile, photos and videos will all be permanently deleted. Messenger will be disabled and Login for any other apps won’t work. If you’re not sure, follow these steps to remove your Facebook account.
- Open the Facebook app, go to Settings & Privacy and click on Settings.
- Click on “Your Facebook Information” and then click on Deactivation or Deletion.
- Select Permanently Delete Account and then click Continue to Account Elimination.
- The reason you want to delete the account will be requested. Select the reason.
- The company will then show you the details of all data that will be lost if you delete them.
- Click on Delete Account and enter your password. Then click Continue.
Facebook can generally take up to 90 days for your account to be deleted from its servers. The company gives you a grace period of 30 days to reactivate your account. To stop the deletion, you can log back into your account within 30 calendar days.
Read More: How to Delete Telegram Account Permanently